The Five Levels of Logging

Logging is one of those concepts in software development where almost all (if not actually all) software would benefit tremendously from having it. I often find that it is the first subsystem I set up when starting a large project. There is much to be said about its benetifs, but I’ll leave that to someone (or sometime) else. Right now, I would like to talk about logging levels.
Logging levels are a brilliant (and simple, as these often go hand-in-hand) addition to your basic “scrolling lines of text” logging. Each message is assigned a level, signifying the importance of the message or the severity of its implications. “Your computer is on fire”, for example, could be a critical message whereas “Unable to find the config file” would probably be assigned a lower level of importance.
Many applications and libraries define their own levels (see External Examples for some examples) according to their

Original URL:

Original article

Comments are closed.

Proudly powered by WordPress | Theme: Baskerville 2 by Anders Noren.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: